News & Events

Dragon Week

Nick ToczekOn Wednesday 16 October we had author, performance poet, puppeteer, stand-up comedian and magician Nick Toczek in school.

The day started with a 1 hour show to the whole of Phoenix School. Nick recited some of his poetry, told stories of his life, performed with a puppet monster and amazed the children with some magic tricks. He had the children laughing, and even managed to raise a giggle from the teachers. Following a short break Nick took workshops where he showed pupils from Year 2 - 6 some great ideas for writing poetry. He got them all involved shouting out ideas for rhymes which he wrote on a whiteboard.

 Nick came back to school after just a short break to give an evening performance for parents and families. He spent another hour reciting poetry, telling jokes and funny stories, performing magic and entertaining everyone with his puppet. All the classes from Reception to Year 6 enjoyed all the dragon activities planned  for them for Dragon week. The children made beautiful dragons in the art room, learnt dragon songs in Music, wrote dragon poems, listen to dragon stories and watched dragon videos. They also designed cute and scary dragons during computer lessons.

Dragon week was topped off by a humorous dragon assembly, performed by 5S, called 'Georgina and the Dragon. 

Yolande Smit
Literacy Coordinator

Term 1 2017

Important dates to remember

 

Phoenix School Calendar 

 

06 September 2017, Wednesday
First day of term

08 September 2017, Friday
Welcome back assembly
World Literacy Day 

11 September 2017, Monday
Afternoon Activities start

14 September 2017, Thursday
Meet the Teacher Evening
PPA AGM

15 September 2017, Friday
5B Assembly

22 Sepetmber 2017, Friday
4M Assembly

29 September 2017, Friday
2Y Assembly

06 October 2017, Friday
5T Assembly 

11 October 2017, Wednesday
Author's Abroad Day - Karin Littlewood

13 October May 2017, Friday
6AK Assembly

16 - 20 October 2017, Monday - Friday
Half term break - no school 

26 October 2017, Thursday
Parent - Teacher Meetings

27 October 2017, Friday
6K Assembly
PPA Bingo Night

03 November 2017, Friday 
4K Assembly

04 November 2017, Saturday
Hillview Christmas Bazaar

10 November 2017, Friday
Founder's Fun Day  

17 November 2017, Friday 
2J Assembly
Relay Swimming Gala @ PHX

18 November 2017, Saturday
Inter School Hockey Tournament @ SAIPS

24 November 2017, Friday
1M Assembly
Upper School Film Night

01 December 2017, Friday
1P Assembly
Nursery Christmas Play
Lower School Christmas Recital

05 December 2017, Tuesday
Upper School Christmas Concert

07 December 2017, Thursday
Inter House Hockey Tournament

08 December 2017, Friday
Last day of term: Mufti Day, Class parties