News & Events

Phoenix celebrated World Book Day on Friday the 6th of March

World Book Day celebrates the joy and value of books and reading, especially for children. Reading issomething that we really value at Phoenix and we understand the importance of children getting enjoyment from their reading. At the moment we have many exciting, new initiatives taking off in school; all aimed at improving children’s reading and building their interest. World Book Day was an excellent way to kick start things. Here’s what we will did on World Book Day on Friday 6 March:Every child and teacher dressed up as a book character and participated in a fashion show.  We had the BFG, Dalmatians, Cat in a hat, Pippi Longstocking. Harry Potter and many other characters at school. Children also participated in reading activities during the week as part of their daily lessons. We  also  had  a book donation during the day.  This required children to bring in a book that they no longer want  in order to donate it to an orphanage.  Well done Phoenix!  - you donated more than 600 books. 

Anglia books treated us to a book fair in the hall - thanks to all the parents for their support. We encourage all parents to join us in building your child’s enthusiasm for books well beyond World Book Day by reading together regularly and joining the new children's library in Blantyre if you are not yet members. Children are never too young to start their journey with books, and the benefits of reading are enormous.

With best wishes  

Yolande Smit
Literacy Coordinator

Term 1 2017

Important dates to remember

 

Phoenix School Calendar 

 

06 September 2017, Wednesday
First day of term

08 September 2017, Friday
Welcome back assembly
World Literacy Day 

11 September 2017, Monday
Afternoon Activities start

14 September 2017, Thursday
Meet the Teacher Evening
PPA AGM

15 September 2017, Friday
5B Assembly

22 Sepetmber 2017, Friday
4M Assembly

29 September 2017, Friday
2Y Assembly

06 October 2017, Friday
5T Assembly 

11 October 2017, Wednesday
Author's Abroad Day - Karin Littlewood

13 October May 2017, Friday
6AK Assembly

16 - 20 October 2017, Monday - Friday
Half term break - no school 

26 October 2017, Thursday
Parent - Teacher Meetings

27 October 2017, Friday
6K Assembly
PPA Bingo Night

03 November 2017, Friday 
4K Assembly

04 November 2017, Saturday
Hillview Christmas Bazaar

10 November 2017, Friday
Founder's Fun Day  

17 November 2017, Friday 
2J Assembly
Relay Swimming Gala @ PHX

18 November 2017, Saturday
Inter School Hockey Tournament @ SAIPS

24 November 2017, Friday
1M Assembly
Upper School Film Night

01 December 2017, Friday
1P Assembly
Nursery Christmas Play
Lower School Christmas Recital

05 December 2017, Tuesday
Upper School Christmas Concert

07 December 2017, Thursday
Inter House Hockey Tournament

08 December 2017, Friday
Last day of term: Mufti Day, Class parties